Who will be the next Outstanding Georgia Young Peanut Farmer?

Sponsored by the Georgia Peanut Commission and BASF, the state winner will be announced at the Georgia Peanut Farm Show on Thursday, Jan. 21, 2016, in Tifton. Nominations are still being accepted based on overall farm operation, environmental and stewardship practices, leadership, civic activities, church activities and community service.

Applications must be submitted to the Georgia Peanut Commission by December 15 and may be obtained at www.gapeanuts.com or through Joy Crosby: 229-386-3690 / joycrosby@gapeanuts.com

Any peanut farmer under the age of 45 (as of 1/21/16) is eligible to win so long as they have never won the award before.

Previous winners include:

  • Andrew Grimes – Tifton
  • Jimmy Webb – Leary
  • Randy Branch – Baxley
  • Jim Waters – Blackshear
  • James Hitchcock, Jr. – Tennille
  • Greg Mims – Donalsonville
  • Brad Thompson – Donalsonville

“We have so many young peanut farmers making a difference in their communities and I consider this awards program a great opportunity to recognize one young peanut farmer for their contributions to the agriculture industry,” says Armond Morris of Irwin County, chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission.

Photo by Soil Science @ NC State

Previous articleRubio: Radical jihadists using refugee crisis as cover
Next articleAlabama ends effort to cut off funds to Planned Parenthood

Jessica Szilagyi is statewide contributor for All On Georgia and Market Manager for Southeast Georgia. Her main focus with All On Georgia is state and local politics as well as agriculture. She’s served as a policy analyst at the State Capitol and as a campaign manager in political races across the state.

She writes for GeorgiaPol.com and has two blogs of her own: ‘The Perspicacious Conservative’, a political blog, and ‘Hair Blowers to Lawn Mowers’, a blog on moving from Atlanta to rural Georgia. Jessica is also a contributor for Fox5 Atlanta’s ‘Like it Or Not.’